This post is part of a weekly series in which we get to know Sifties.


Erin Slepitza is a Recruiting Coordinator who has been with Sift Science for seven months. If she could be any animal, it would be an elephant because they have excellent memories and so does she. She never forgets anything. Ever.

Where is your favorite place to be?

My family’s lake house in Minnesota. It’s been in our family for 109 years, and next year we’re having a huge family celebration for the 110th year. It’s the original house from 1908 and only has one bathroom that we usually split between 15+ people.

While we’re staying at the house, we do lots of things – fish, water ski, jet ski, and play a lot of corn hole. I’ve been going there every summer since I was born. My parents were married there, my husband proposed to me there, and overall it’s just a very special place for all of us.

If a movie was made of your life, what genre would it be and who would play you?

It would be a comedy/drama/romance, kind of like Train Wreck. I’ve been through some tough times in my life, but everything always ends up happy. I also have super random and comedic things happen to me, like the one time my college boyfriend, who was a bike delivery person, ended up delivering flowers sent by my now-husband.

Jennifer Lawrence would play me in the movie, because we both have raspy men-voices, with large, round cheeks. And she seems to always be trying to live her best life. Snoop Dogg would be my roommate and best friend, who helps me get through the ups and downs of life.

What was your first car?

It was a Toyota Rav4 named Ravi. I usually name my possessions what they are. My dad is a golf course engineer and Ravi was one of the course’s security cars. When it arrived at my house, it still had all the police lights on it. My parents let me drive around the neighborhood with the lights on, which freaked out all the neighbors. I don’t think that was legal. Sadly, we had to remove the lights.

What did you want to be when you were a kid?

I was obsessed with basketball when I was younger and wanted to be in the WNBA. My parents had season tickets to the Phoenix Suns games and they would bring me. I used to collect Phoenix Suns bookmarks that our local library gave out to kids every time they read a book.

When I got older, I got really into basketball shoes. My favorite was the “Sheryl Swoopes” because she was a woman. I would practice in front of my house every day with my dad. In high school, I made the varsity team as a freshman. I wasn’t good enough to receive a scholarship, but I probably could have walked on at a D3 school. However, I wanted to go to a Pac-10 school so I went to the University of Oregon.

If you weren’t in recruiting, what would be your dream job?

I would probably be a wedding planner, because I really love weddings. I planned mine all by myself — I put the vision together, taught myself calligraphy, and it took me two weeks to write 100 invitations. I’m also good at DIY and budgeting.

Tags:

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *